Mayfield Beats McCracken 49-27 to Stay Unbeaten
By West Kentucky Star Staff
WESTERN KENTUCKY - The Mayfield Cardinals used a 20-0 run to start the game and a 21-6 run to end the game to grab a 49-27 win over the McCracken County Mustangs Friday night at War Memorial Stadium.

The Cardinals struck early and often. A missed field goal on 4th down for Mayfield was negated by a McCracken penalty, allowing Mayfield a 1st-and-goal on the 5-yard line. The Cardinals responded two plays later with a two yard touchdown run by Kyle Hurt.

Hurt would reach the end zone again just minutes later as Mayfield set up a red zone drive quickly and Hurt finished it with a 2-yard touchdown run to make it 14-0 Mayfield with 7:04 left in the first quarter. It was Kyle Hurt again for Mayfield as he would score from one yard out with 4:51 left in the opening quarter to give Mayfield a 20-0 lead.

The 2nd quarter belonged to McCracken County as the Mustangs responded with 14 straight points. Sophomore quarterback Elijah Wheat found Lawson Parrish for a 12-yard touchdown to make it 20-7 Mayfield with 8:48 in the 2nd quarter. Minutes later, Wheat found Skyler Mayes over the middle for a 12-yard touchdown to make it 20-14.

Mayfield would land another big blow before halftime. Connor Guthrie found Jordan Harrison for a 68-yard touchdown to give Mayfield a 28-14 halftime lead.

The Mustangs converted on a Mayfield turnover in the 3rd quarter when Elijah Wheat found Andrew Vanderford for a 10-yard touchdown to make it 28-21 Mayfield.

The Cardinals would then go on the 21-6 run to end the game and seal the home opening win, 49-27. Mayfield hosts (3-1) Graves County next week while McCracken County hosts Glenbard North (Illinois) next Saturday.

Friday's Night's Scores

Trigg County 55, Ballard Memorial 37
Bowling Green 48, Owensboro 21
Marshall County 49, Calloway County 7
Christian County 15, Hopkinsville 12
Caldwell County 64, Crittenden County 21
Graves County 26, Paducah Tilghman 15
Mayfield 49, McCracken County 27
Murray 34, Fort Campbell 19
Union County 28, Madisonville 14
Stewart County, TN 46, Fulton County 14
Anna-Jonesboro 40, Massac County 7
Webster County 35, Fulton City 6

Published 11:07 PM, Friday Sep. 08, 2017
Updated 06:44 AM, Monday Sep. 11, 2017

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View (1) Comment