Satterfield Named Coach of the Year Semifinalist
By Louisville Athletics
LOUISVILLE - University of Louisville head coach Scott Satterfield is one of 22 semifinalists for the annual George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, announced by the Maxwell Football Club. 
Taking over a team that went 2-10 last season, Satterfield has led Louisville to a 6-4 record this year, which is currently the top turnaround among Power 5 teams with two regular season games remaining before the postseason. 

After going 0-8 in the Atlantic Coast Conference a year ago, Satterfield has guided the Cardinals to an impressive 4-3 record heading into Saturday's final conference game versus Syracuse at 4 p.m. at Cardinal Stadium. With a win over the Orange, the Cardinals could post a second-place finish in league play.

Competing against one of the nation's most difficult schedules, the Cardinals have played three ranked teams this year, including two in the top 10 in No. 9 Notre Dame and No. 3 Clemson. The Cardinals snapped a 10-game losing streak against ranked opponents, with a 62-59 win over No. 19 Wake Forest on Oct. 12. It was the first road win over a ranked opponent since a 38-35 win at West Virginia in 2011.

Under Satterfield, running back Javian Hawkins became the first running back to rush for over 1,000 yards in a season since 2010 with 1,045 yards --- three yards short of breaking the school's freshman rushing record.

Wide receiver Tutu Atwell, with 920 yards receiving, is closing in on becoming the first UofL wideout since 2007 to reach the 1,000-yard plateau. 

Offensively, the Cardinals are one of the most explosive teams in the country, with 50 plays of 40 yards or more, including five touchdowns of 50 or more yards.

Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Thursday Nov. 21stand close on Sunday, Dec.8th. The finalist round will include the top three coaches as selected in the semifinalist round. Finalist voting will open Dec.9th and run until Dec. 27th. The winner will be announced Dec. 29th.

The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club's National Awards Gala on Friday, March 6, 2020 at the Tropicana Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Jeff Monken of Army-West Point was the 2018 winner of the award.

George Munger Semifinalists Coach of the Year
Troy Calhoun                       Air Force
Eli Drinkwitz                         Appalachian State
Matt Rhule                           Baylor
Bryan Harsin                        Boise State
Jim McElwain                      Central Michigan
Luke Fickell                         Cincinnati
Dabo Swinney                     Clemson
Dan Mullen                          Florida
Kirby Smart                          Georgia
Tom Allen                             Indiana
Scott Satterfield                   Louisville
Ed Orgeron                          LSU
Mike Norvell                         Memphis
P.J. Fleck                             Minnesota
Ken Niumatalolo                  Navy
Ryan Day                             Ohio State
Lincoln Riley                        Oklahoma
Mario Cristobal                    Oregon
James Franklin                    Penn State
Rocky Long                          San Diego State
Sonny Dykes                       SMU
Kyle  Whittingham               Utah

Published 07:35 AM, Thursday Nov. 21, 2019
Updated 07:37 AM, Thursday Nov. 21, 2019

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View Comments



Most Commented Stories