McMahon Named a Coach Skip Prosser Award Finalist
By Murray State Athletics
MURRAY - Murray State men's basketball coach Matt McMahon was honored as part of the list of 25 the finalists for the 2019 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award as announced by

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well. 

McMahon and the Racers wrapped up their second-consecutive Ohio Valley Conference Tournament championship over the weekend at the Ford Center in Evansville, Indiana. The Racers are 27-4 and qualified for the program's 17th appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Racers are waiting to hear their name called on Selection Sunday when the field of teams is announced.

McMahon, in his fourth season at MSU, has produced an outstanding culture within the Racer Basketball team where integrity and character are the main parts of the foundation that everything else plays off of. 

Coach Skip Prosser was well known and respected by his peers in college basketball and after his death in 2007, created an award in his honor. The first award went to Mike Brey of Notre Dame in 2008.

In six years with the Deacons, Prosser posted a 126-68 record. For his career, he was 291-146 in 14 seasons including six as the head coach at Xavier and one year at Loyola (Md.). At Wake Forest, Prosser's teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in arguably the nation's most difficult league, the Atlantic Coast Conference. Prosser won 100 games at an ACC school quicker than all but two coaches in the 55-year history of the conference. He coached NBA stars Chris Paul and Josh Howard, led the Demon Deacons to the first No. 1 national ranking in school history and earned ACC Coach of the Year honors in 2003.

The OVC is honored to have two coaches on the list as Coach McMahon is joined by Belmont's Rick Byrd.

McMahon was nominated for the Prosser Award a year ago and former MSU coach Billy Kennedy was on the finalist list in 2010.

The recipient of the 2019 Skip Prosser award will be announced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event, in Minneapolis, site of the 2019 NCAA division I basketball championship.



Casey Alexander, Lipscomb

Tommy Amaker, Harvard

Rick Byrd, Belmont

Johnny Dawkins, UCF

Fran Dunphy, Temple

Steve Forbes, ETSU

Joe Golding, Abilene Christian

Earl Grant, Charleston

Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State

Michael Huger, Bowling Green

Donte' Jackson, Grambling

James Jones, Yale

Mike Jones, Radford

Robert Jones, Norfolk State

Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T

Danny Kaspar, Texas State

Rob Krimmel, Saint Francis PA

Matt McMahon, Murray State

Joe Mihalich, Hofstra

Nate Oats, Buffalo

Ryan Odom, UMBC

Matt Painer, Purdue

Doc Sadler, Southern Miss

Bruce Weber, Kansas State

Mike Young, Wofford



2018: Casey Alexander, Lipscomb

2017: Danny Manning, Wake Forest

2016: Zack Spiker, Army

2015: Keno Davis, Central Michigan

2014: Brian Wardle, Green Bay

2013: Joe Mihalich, Niagara

2012: Jimmy Patsos, Loyola MD

2011: Chris Mack, Xavier

2010: Bob Marlin, Sam Houston State

2009: Ed Conroy, The Citadel

2008: Mike Brey, Notre Dame

Published 08:11 PM, Wednesday Mar. 13, 2019
Updated 08:15 PM, Wednesday Mar. 13, 2019

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View Comments